06 February 2010

Wolves Fall To Heat, 3-2, In Shootout

Right wing Anthony Stewart and center Riley Holzapfel lit the lamp for Chicago (29-17-0-4), while Stewart and right wing Joey Crabb converted in a nine-round shootout.

Holzapfel got the Wolves on board first when Kevin Doell sent a faceoff draw back to Holzapfel. Holzapfel took a slap shot from the slot that flew past Heat goaltender David Shantz at 9:58 of the first period.

Defenseman Gord Baldwin tied it up for the Abbotsford (22-23-4-3) at 17:46. Right wing J.D. Watt dished the puck off to Baldwin on the point, who sent a wrist shot through traffic past Wolves netminder Kari Lehtonen for the goal.

Baldwin notched his second goal of the game, 12:42 into the second period. On a three-on-two, left wing Colin Stuart sent a forward pass to Baldwin who was streaking towards the goal crease and redirected the puck threw Lehtonen’s legs for the 2-1 lead.

Lehtonen (1-1-2) thwarted away 17 of the 19 shots he faced in regulation and overtime and stopped six of nine shooutout attempts.

Stewart knotted things up for the Wolves at two goals apiece after center Matt Anderson passed the puck to Stewart inside the goalmouth. Stewart redirected the pass and slid it under Shantz for the power-play tally at 7:06 of the third period.

Shantz (3-5-0) posted 32 saves in the effort.

The Wolves head back to the Allstate Arena where they will take on the Peoria Rivermen this Tuesday, Feb. 9 at 7 p.m.

Chicago 1 0 1 0 (0) -- 2
Abbotsford 1 1 0 0 (1) -- 3 shootout

First Period---1, Chicago, Holzapfel 5 (Doell), 9:58; 2, Abbotsford, Baldwin 1 (Watt), 17:46. Penalties---Weller, Abbotsford (tripping), 5:06; Carpentier, Abbotsford (interference), 7:56; Krog, Chicago (hooking), 14:08.

Second Period---3, Abbotsford, Baldwin 2 (Stuart, Shantz), 12:42. Penalties---Postma, Chicago (tripping), 8:27; Stuart, Abbotsford (cross-checking), 14:55; Jaffray, Abbotsford (high-sticking), 19:41.

Third Period---4, Chicago, Stewart 9 (Anderson, Hunt), 7:06 pp. Penalties---Meyers, Abbotsford (delay of game), 1:50; Van der Gulik, Abbotsford (interference), 5:49.

Overtime---None. Penalties---Kulda, Chicago (holding), 1:25.

Shootout---Chicago 0 (Stapleton NG, Sterling NG, Crabb G, Stewart G, Anderson NG, Krog NG, Doell NG, Kozek NG, Machacek NG); Abbotsford 1 (Cunning NG, Jaffray NG, Barlow G, Kronwall NG, Murray G, Van der Gulik NG, Seabrook NG, Latendresse NG, Stuart G).

Shots on goal---Chicago: 12-5-17-0-0--34. Abbotsford: 6-4-7-2-1--20. Power plays---Chicago: 1-6. Abbotsford: 0-3. Goalies--Chicago, Lehtonen (17-19). Abbotsford, Shantz (32-34). A---4,311. Referee---Ghislain Hebert. Linesmen---Chris de Haan and Trent Knorr.